BID 3.0 2015-2020

In October 2005, Neuer Wall became Germany’s first downtown business improvement district. Following a complete redesign of the public spaces, extensive additional cleaning and service projects were carried out, and financing was provided for the annual Christmas lighting. Nearly 10 years later, BIDs are a common feature of Hamburg’s city centre. During the past 10 years, downtown BIDs have invested approximately EUR 20 million in the quality of public spaces and in service, cleaning, and marketing projects.

The new quality of Hamburg’s city centre is the reason why Hamburg’s visitor numbers are steadily rising, and it has become a destination for international shopping guests.

Brick-and-mortar retail is currently facing growing competition from online retail – customers no longer need to visit a store in order to purchase something. Attractive online stores, free returns, and smooth, secure transaction services make online shopping more convenient than ever. All the more reason to make spending time in the city centre a positive experience for all visitors and office workers.

Therefore, once the individual BIDs have been given a visual upgrade, the task will be to attractively communicate and to stage the city centre in its entirety for each market segment. The upcoming development of the southern HafenCity, which includes the creation of a large shopping and entertainment centre, will likewise play a large role here.

The following work has been initiated:

  • OPTIMISATION AND MODIFICATION OF SERVICES
    • Through added security personnel at Christmastime and on long holiday weekends
  • REDESIGN OF CHRISTMAS LIGHTING
    • Energetic upgrading
    • Redesigning 
  • INTENSIFICATION OF MARKETING ACTIVITIES
    • Continuation of the Merry Shopping programme 
    • Initiation of summer events
    • Collaborations with neighbouring districts 
    • Redesign of the website

BID 3.0 2015-2020

Die Straße Neuer Wall ist seit Oktober 2005 Deutschlands erstes innerstädtisches Business Improvement District. Nach einer vollständigen Neugestaltung der öffentlichen Räume wurden umfassende zusätzliche Reinigungs- und Serviceleistungen erbracht, sowie die jährliche Weihnachtsbeleuchtung finanziert. Knapp 10 Jahre später sind BIDs in der Hamburger Innenstadt allgegenwärtig. Von den innerstädtischen BIDs wurden in den vergangenen zehn Jahren rund 20 Mio. Euro in die Qualität der öffentlichen Räume, in Service-, Reinigungs- sowie Marketingleistungen investiert.

Es ist der neuen Qualität der Hamburger Innenstadt zu verdanken, dass Besucherzahlen Hamburgs nachhaltig steigen und Hamburg zum Ziel für internationale Shopping-Gäste geworden ist.

Derzeit steht der stationäre Einzelhandel in immer größerer Konkurrenz zum Online-Handel – Kunden müssen nicht unbedingt ein Geschäft betreten, um etwas zu erwerben. Attraktive Online-Shops, kostenlose Retouren und sichere, problemlose Transaktionsdienstleistungen machen das Online-Shopping so bequem und praktisch wie noch nie. Umso wichtiger ist es, den Aufenthalt in der Innenstadt für alle Besucher und Mitarbeiter in den Büros zu einem positiven Erlebnis zu machen.

Daher wird es nach der optischen Verschönerung und Erneuerung der einzelnen BID-Quartiere zur Aufgabe, die Innenstadt als Ganzes in ihrem jeweiligen Marktsegment attraktiv zu kommunizieren und zu inszenieren. Die anstehende Entwicklung der südlichen HafenCity mit der Entstehung eines großen Einkaufs- und Erlebniscenters spielt hier ebenfalls eine große Rolle.

Die folgenden Maßnahmen wurden initiiert:

  • OPTIMIERUNG UND ANPASSUNG DER SERVICELEISTUNGEN
    • Durch einen zusätzlichen Sicherheitsdienst zur Weihnachtszeit und zu Brückentagen
  • ÜBERARBEITUNG DER WEIHNACHTSBELEUCHTUNG
    • Energetische Aufrüstung
    • Gestalterische Überarbeitung 
  • INTENSIVIERUNG DER MARKETING-LEISTUNGEN
    • Weiterführung Merry Shopping-Programm 
    • Initiierung Sommer-Veranstaltung
    • Kooperationen mit Nachbarquartieren 
    • Überarbeitung der Homepage